Methods of Working, part 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have many conversations with gallery visitors about my painting process. Curiosity about idea development is forefront for everyone. My methods of working vary from one painting to the next, but ideas are always nurtured from the thumbnail sketch. No matter where an idea is born, the inherent problems of painting the idea can usually be solved by mapping out a series of quick sketches, in which I resolve composition, values, proportions and light source. Long ago, in art school, I learned the benefits of keeping a daily sketch journal. This keeps my hand in it, even on days when I don’t paint. My sketches are done sometimes on site, or from digital photos, but most often from memory, and I think those interpretations develop  the painting into my personal comment on the subject at hand.

About jamesyoungartist


Leave a Reply

