The Assemblage

  When I find a barn that fascinates me, I tend to stalk it with the intent of creating several paintings. I think groups of images lend more insight and ultimately more interest. This collection of barns is not far from where I live, so repeated visits are easy. My observations have begun to focus on the subtleties of color and shadow, and how these factor in to the viewer’s perception of shape and form. I have long considered edges to be the most interesting part of a painting. When you consider the tension and energy created by parallel planes of color, and then begin to define those borders through the manipulation of color and shadow, the definition of shape changes. Thanks for looking!

About jamesyoungartist


Leave a Reply

